Press "Enter" to skip to content

Arsenal 1-0 Zurich: Hosts secure their place in the last 16 of Europa League


Kieran Tierney
Arsenal have won all of their matches when scoring first in the Europa League this season

Arsenal secured their place in the last 16 of the Europa League with a narrow victory over Zurich at Emirates Stadium.

Kieran Tierney’s thumping 20-yard drive into the bottom right corner ensured the hosts advance as Group A winners.

While Arsenal’s margin of victory could have been more significant it proved an ideal night for manager Mikel Arteta.

The Spaniard was able to introduce Bukayo Saka after the break to allay any fitness concerns and also rest several key players prior to Sunday’s Premier League trip to Chelsea.

The only complaint was that Arsenal did not put the result beyond doubt during a dominant first-half display in which Eddie Nketiah twice stung the palms of Zurich goalkeeper Yanick Brecher, and Fabio Vieira saw his goalbound effort blocked from close range.

That ensured a nervy finale with Adrian Guerrero’s left-foot effort ruled out for offside and Ukrainian forward Bogdan Viunnyk seeing his rasping drive just fly wide of the top left corner as the visitors searched for an equaliser.

However, the Gunners held on and have now won all eight of their matches against Swiss clubs in European competition.

More to follow.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Ramsdale
  • 4WhiteSubstituted forTomiyasuat 73′minutesSubstituted forCédric Soaresat 88′minutes
  • 16Holding
  • 6GabrielBooked at 90mins
  • 3Tierney
  • 21Fábio VieiraSubstituted forØdegaardat 73′minutes
  • 25ElnenySubstituted forParteyat 63′minutes
  • 23Sambi Lokonga
  • 24Nelson
  • 9Gabriel JesusSubstituted forSakaat 63′minutes
  • 14Nketiah


  • 5Partey
  • 7Saka
  • 8Ødegaard
  • 11Martinelli
  • 12Saliba
  • 17Cédric Soares
  • 18Tomiyasu
  • 27Marquinhos
  • 31Hein
  • 35Zinchenko
  • 56Hillson
  • 72Smith


Formation 3-4-1-2

  • 25Brecher
  • 2Kamberi
  • 24KaticBooked at 49mins
  • 6AlitiBooked at 32minsSubstituted forSantiniat 89′minutes
  • 19Boranijasevic
  • 8SelnæsSubstituted forHornschuhat 77′minutes
  • 17CondéBooked at 62minsSubstituted forKrasniqiat 82′minutes
  • 3Guerrero
  • 11Okita
  • 23RohnerSubstituted forMarchesanoat 45′minutes
  • 15TosinSubstituted forViunnykat 78′minutes


  • 1Kostadinovic
  • 4Omeragic
  • 7Krasniqi
  • 9Santini
  • 10Marchesano
  • 16Hornschuh
  • 20Viunnyk
  • 27Hodza
  • 28Mets
  • 35Sauter
  • 40Omerovic

Live Text


Source link

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: